Washington Teacher Reciprocity Agreements

The state of Washington now accepts verification of credentials and completion of accredited teacher preparation programs from out-of-state as a means toward qualifying for teacher certification in Washington. The NASDTEC Interstate Agreement has facilitated the use of out-of-state credentials, however, all qualifications will be analyzed and out-of-state certification does not guarantee qualification for Washington teacher certification. All deficits will need to be completed prior to receiving professional certification in Washington. Learn more about the certification process and requirements by visiting the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction website, or call (360) 725-6400.

The following are member states of the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement who have signed reciprocity agreements with Washington.

AlabamaIndianaNebraskaRhode Island
ArizonaKansasNevadaSouth Carolina
ArkansasKentuckyNew HampshireSouth Dakota
CaliforniaLouisianaNew JerseyTennessee
ColoradoMaineNew MexicoTexas
ConnecticutMarylandNew YorkUtah
DelawareMassachusettsNorth CarolinaVirginia
FloridaMichiganNorth DakotaVermont
GeorgiaMinnesotaOhioWest Virginia