Washington DC Teacher Reciprocity Agreements

The District of Columbia provides avenues for teachers in all states to use their current credentials to apply for teaching certification in the nation’s capital. However, all credentials will be evaluated and deficiencies may exist that will need to be completed prior to qualifying for full licensure. For more information on the process of certification, explore the District of Columbia Office of the State Superintendent of Education website.

The following are member states of the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement who have signed reciprocity agreements with Washington DC.

Alabama Indiana Nevada South Carolina
Arizona Kansas New Hampshire South Dakota
Arkansas KentuckyNew Jersey Tennessee
California Louisiana New Mexico Texas
Colorado Maine New York Utah
Connecticut Maryland North Carolina Virginia
Delaware Massachusetts North DakotaVermont
Florida Michigan Ohio Washington
GeorgiaMississippi Oklahoma West Virginia
Hawaii Missouri Oregon Wisconsin
Idaho Montana PennsylvaniaWyoming
Illinois Nebraska Rhode Island