West Virginia Teacher Reciprocity Agreements

West Virginia offers certification opportunities to individuals who have either completed a teacher education program out of state or who have already earned their teaching certification out-of-state. Qualifications of applicants will be analyzed, even from states with reciprocity, and any deficits will be indicated to applicants. For information on the process of applying for teaching certification in West Virginia, explore the West Virginia Department of Education website, or call 1-800-982-2378.

The following are member states of the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement who have signed reciprocity agreements with West Virginia.

Alabama Indiana Nevada South Carolina
Arizona Kansas New Hampshire South Dakota
Arkansas KentuckyNew Jersey Tennessee
California Louisiana New Mexico Texas
Colorado Maine New York Utah
Connecticut Maryland North Carolina Vermont
Delaware Massachusetts North DakotaVirginia
Florida Michigan Ohio Washington
GeorgiaMississippi Oklahoma Wyoming
Hawaii Missouri Oregon 
Idaho Montana Pennsylvania 
Illinois Nebraska Rhode Island