Oregon Substitute Teaching License
The TSPC issues Restricted Substitute Teaching Licenses to qualified applicants. It must be applied for in conjunction with the school district for which you will substitute teach. You may only work for 60 days per school year within the school district if you have never held an Oregon teaching license. This license is valid for three years.
(The TSPC also offers Substitute Teacher Licenses to those who have completed full requirements to obtain a teaching license in the state –i.e., education, experience, and examination)
The Oregon Substitute Teachers Association notes that the daily minimum salary for substitute teachers in the state has been set by the legislature at 85% of the salary of the average beginning teacher. Based on 2009-10 school year data, the average salary of a beginning teacher was $35,646. The minimum pay rate for the first 10 consecutive days of substitute teaching would be $159.47 per day.
You must have at least a bachelor’s degree and hold a first aid card to obtain a Restricted Substitute Teaching License.
<!- mfunc feat_school ->
Want to learn how to earn a professional teaching certification? Contact schools offering teaching certification programs in Oregon.
No experience is required to earn a Restricted Substitute Teaching License.
Complete the “Protecting Student and Civil Rights in the Educational Environment” exam. Click here for more information.
Criminal History Background Check
All prospective substitute teachers in Oregon are subject to a criminal history background check. The school district where you wish to work as a substitute will provide you with the necessary fingerprint card and forms. Take them to your local law enforcement agency that offers fingerprint services. They will complete the card and form and return them to you in a sealed envelope. Send this envelope to the TSPC with your application for a substitute teaching license.
For more information on substitute teaching positions near you, contact your local school district.