New York Teacher Reciprocity Agreements

New York offers teachers from out-of-state to use their previous experience, education and licensure to apply for similar licensure in the state of New York. To learn more about necessary requirements and materials that must be submitted with your application in order to acquire a New York teaching certification, explore the New York State Education Department Office of Teaching Initiatives website, or call (518) 474-3901.

The following are member states of the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement who have signed reciprocity agreements with New York.

Alabama Indiana Nevada South Dakota
Arizona Kansas New Hampshire Tennessee
Arkansas KentuckyNew Jersey Texas
California Louisiana New Mexico Utah
Colorado Maine North Carolina Vermont
Connecticut Maryland North Dakota Virginia
Delaware Massachusetts OhioWashington
Florida Michigan Oklahoma West Virginia
GeorgiaMississippi Oregon Wisconsin
Hawaii Missouri Pennsylvania Wyoming
Idaho Montana Rhode Island 
Illinois Nebraska South Carolina