New Mexico Substitute Teaching License
The New Mexico Public Education Department issues Substitute Teacher Licenses to qualified applicants who wish to substitute teach in grades Pre K-12. Your Substitute Teacher License may be valid for up to three years, and is renewable.
Want to learn how to earn a professional teaching certification? Contact schools offering teaching certification programs in New Mexico.
If you wish to substitute teach grades K-8, you must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED. If you wish to substitute teach grades 9-12, you must be at least 21 years old and have a high school diploma or GED. You must also meet one of the following requirements:
- Complete an approved teacher preparation program from a regionally accredited institution
- Have a current standard or substitute teaching license from another state
- Complete two or more of the following requirements:
- Have at least three hours of substitute teacher training in three days during your first year of employment as a substitute
- Observe at least three hours of teaching in the school and grade level in which you will work as a substitute
- Complete a substitute workshop offered by the school district
- Complete 60 hours of college credit from a regionally accredited institution
- Enrollment in a teacher preparation program
- Meet experience requirements as described below
No experience is necessary to obtain a substitute teaching license, except to meet the requirement in 3(e) above:
- Have worked for at least three hours in the past three years as a substitute teacher in any accredited/recognized New Mexico school
- Have worked in verified, paid employment during the three years before applying for a substitute teacher certificate
Criminal History Background Check
When applying for a Substitute Teacher License in New Mexico, you will be asked to undergo a criminal history background check and provide your fingerprints. The Educator Ethics Bureau (505-827-6649) will provide you with a fingerprint card packet, which you must take to your local police station or law enforcement agency where they will facilitate fingerprinting for a fee. Mail the completed fingerprint packet with your application for a substitute teacher license.
For information on substitute teacher licensure in New Mexico, contact the Professional Licensure Bureau of the New Mexico Public Education Department at 505-827-5821.