Maine Teacher Reciprocity Agreements

The state of Maine offers current teachers, or those who qualify for teacher certification, in others states to earn teaching certification in Maine through evaluation of out-of-state teacher education programs and examinations.

To learn more about the process of earning your Maine teaching credential as an out-of-state teacher applicant, explore the  Maine Department of Education website or call (207) 624-6603.

The following are members states of the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement who have signed reciprocity agreements with Maine.

Alabama Indiana New Hampshire South Dakota
Arizona Kansas New Jersey Tennessee
Arkansas KentuckyNew Mexico Texas
California Louisiana New York Utah
Colorado Maryland North Carolina Vermont
Connecticut Massachusetts North Dakota Virginia
Delaware Michigan OhioWashington
Florida Mississippi Oklahoma West Virginia
GeorgiaMissouri Oregon Wisconsin
Hawaii Montana Pennsylvania Wyoming
Idaho Nebraska Rhode Island 
Illinois Nevada South Carolina